EAEU states will retain authority over registration of medicinal products

| By | Drug Registration, EAEU

The rules for registration of drugs within the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) came into force in May. Such a long delay was caused by the accession of the Republic of Armenia to the Union and ratification of the relevant treaty.

This was announced by Anna Kravchuk, the Advisor to the Division of Medicines and Medical Products’ Circulation Coordination of the Technical Regulation and Accreditation Department of the Eurasian Economic Commission.

“In EAEU, there is no single body authorized to register medicinal products, like FDA,” she said.

Therefore, EAEU member states will retain their authority over registration and control of drugs circulation.

The Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) is working on establishing an expert committee, the main task of which will be to address the issues related to the registration of drugs within EAEU.

The expert committee will include 3 representatives from each member state of the Union. The Minister of EEC is designated to be the Chairman of the committee. In addition, it is expected that several specialized groups will be established within the committee.